Research

 
Staff Expertise
 
Structural Engineering
 Earthquake engineering;  Tall buildings;  Bridge engineering;
 Computational mechanics;  Finite element and finite strip analysis;
 concrete technology;  Reinforced concrete structures;
 Soil-structure interaction;  Computer-aided design/analysis;
 Steel structures and fire resistance of metal structures;
 Rehabilitation of civil infrastructure with fibre reinforced polymer (FRP) composites.
Members of the Group  
Name Title Email Address
Au, Francis Tat Kwong Professor francis.au@hku.hk
Kwan, Albert Kwok Hung Professor khkwan@hku.hk
Lo, Sai Huen Professor hreclsh@hku.hk
Young, Ben Professor young@hku.hk
Su, Kai Leung Associate Professor klsu@hku.hk
Deng, Xiaowei Assistant Professor xwdeng@hku.hk.hk
Law, K.H. Lecturer adalaw@hku.hk
 
     
Geotechnical Engineering
 Soil and rock mechanics;  In-situ and laboratory testing;  Soft soil engineering;
 Pile foundations;  Slope engineering;  Landslip prevention;
 Soil dynamics;  pavements;  Tunnelling;
 Undergrounds excavation;  Foundation;  Grouting in soil;
 Landslide investigation;  GIS applications to natural terrain hazards;
 Numerical analysis in geo-mechanics
Members of the Group  
Name Title Email Address
Yue, Quentin Zhong Qi Professor yueqzq@hku.hk
Yang, Jun Associate Professor junyang@hku.hk
Yeung, Albert Tak Chung Associate Professor yeungat@hku.hk
Kwok, Chung Yee Assistant Professor fiona.kwok@hku.hk
Nunes Lourenco, Sergio Duarte Assistant Professor lourenco@hku.hk
 
     
Water and Environmental Engineering
 Hydrology;  Environmental hydraulics/fluid mechanics;
 Water quality modelling;  Coagulation and sedimentation dynamics;
 Wind engineering;  Advanced water and wastewater treatment;
 Environmental biotechnology;  Solid and hazardous waste management;
 Material resource recovery;  Environmental impact assessment
Members of the Group  
Name Title Email Address
Li, Xiaoyan Professor xlia@hku.hk
Zhang, Tong Professor zhangt@hku.hk
Chen, Ji Associate Professor jichen@hku.hk
Shih, Kaimin Associate Professor kshih@hku.hk
Tang, Chuyang Associate Professor tangc@hku.hk
Chui, Ting Fong May Assistant Professor maychui@hku.hk
 
     
Construction Engineering and Management
 Innovative procurement systems;  Public-private partnerships;
 Contractor management;  Claims and dispute management;
 Construction productivity;  Supply chain management;
 Risk management;  ICT for construction project management;
 Quality management;  Sustainable construction;
 Technology transfers;  Industry development;
 Life cycle infrastructure asset management;
Members of the Group  
Name Title Email Address
Ng, Thomas Shiu Tong Professor tstng@hku.hk
Pan, Wei Assistant Professor wpan@hku.hk
Lee, Sang Hoon Assistant Professor sanghoon.lee@hku.hk
 
     
Transportation Engineering
 Transport demand modelling;  Continuum modelling in transport;
 Theory of traffic flow;  Traffic management and control;
 Traffic signals;  Network equilibrium problems;
 Dynamic network modelling;  Transportation systems engineering;
 Road safety
Members of the Group  
Name Title Email Address
Wong, Sze Chun Chair Professor hhecwsc@hku.hk
Szeto, Wai Yuen Associate Professor ceszeto@hku.hk